Taste Test

My refugee friends in Georgia once told me how they found edible, safe plant food while in the forests of Burma:

  1. Touch the fruit to your lips. Wait to see if there is a reaction.
  2. Touch the fruit to your tongue. Wait to see if there is a reaction.
  3. Take a small bite of the fruit. Wait to see if there is a reaction.
  4. Take a larger bite. You are probably now good to go.

Since coming back from Nairobi I’ve noticed some new fruits being dropped from the trees. They are small and round and yellow. Sort of like a crab-apple but less appley. I had seen one of the Fathers eating one, although he hadn’t recommended it. I thought that this was a perfect opportunity to try my friends’ advice.

  1. Touch the fruit to your lips. Wait to see if there is a reaction.

I wondered, as did Kaitlyn who was walking with me, what kind of reaction I should be expecting. How would I know how long to wait? These details hadn’t been given to me.

Then my mouth went numb.

Oh. That was the reaction.

And so my experiment had ended. Two hours later feeling had returned. Luckily, thanks to my friends, I am no worse for wear.

Leave a Reply

