“Christmas time is here…”

We watched the Charlie Brown Christmas Special last night. Today Heather asked me to write something for the blog and i decided i wanted to write about it, but i couldn’t figure out exactly why. And then it came to me: i am Charlie Brown.

I’m the one who roots for the underdog–and oftentimes is the underdog. I like the Charlie Brown Christmas tree right away; i don’t need Linus’ recital of the Gospel story to convince me. And, like Mr. Brown, i often get caught up in the principles of special occasions and forget that others aren’t necessarily at the same place as i am. And i often forget that that’s okay.

It was enlightening to connect with my inner Charlie Brown in this way. I guess i’m a little curious if others have their own inner Peanuts character. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

